Sarita Pittman: An Entrepreneur Naturally Coaching Wellness and Personal Growth

Dr. Pamela Gurley, D.M.
4 min readMay 7, 2021

Being good can imply a lot of things. Being good to yourself implies only one thing and that is you are in control of your life. Just ask Sarita Pittman, Board Certified Master Coach, Holistic Healthcare Practitioner, and soon to be a Doctor of Philosophy in Natural Medicine and Nutritional Sciences. A thought-leader on personal and professional development, she has placed herself as one of the top earners as an executive business coach, personal development coach, curriculum developer, soft skill trainer, and trailblazer in the health industry.

I had the pleasure of chatting with this busy and unapologetic boss lady to pull back a few layers about the way she thinks and connect the dots that have created the successes she attained. May you be inspired to tap into the power you have to make a difference in your life.

Dr. G.: You where so many hats, what does ”Be Good to Yourself” mean to you?

Sarita: It means so much to me. That phrase is my personal mantra. In a nutshell, it means make decisions that improve your life. Acknowledge how things make you feel, set and enforce personal boundaries, and work to be the absolute best version of yourself. Living is the longest thing we will ever do, but our lives is something that can pass us by quickly. Knowing what you want out of life and aligning your choices with your core values produces a life that is meaningful and enjoyable.

Dr. G.: A Trichologist. What inspired you to choose that as one of your career fields and did that lead to becoming a Holistic Healthcare Practitioner?

Sarita: My professional career began in the beauty industry. I started as a Nail Tech, then Master Cosmetologist, then Platform Artist, then Trichologist, then Esthetician, followed by Massage Therapist. My focus of my beauty practice has always been wellness. I know we lean towards convenience; however, having real healthy skin, hair, and nails is so empowering. I loved coloring hair. More than coloring, was coloring and maintaining the health and integrity of my clients’ hair. As a Platform Artist, teaching others took me to the land of Utopia…I personally wanted to be the best teacher I could. So, learning about the science behind what I taught inspired me to go all in.

Dr. G.: How does it feel to have the power to empower healthy living through the healthcare work you do?

Sarita: Well, that’s a little secret of mine. I incorporate wellness into my coaching and business practices. I also create corporate wellness programs, podcasts, products, content, curriculums, web design, and complete brand management. For me it is so enjoyable. It makes me happy. I am the Creative Director for several seven, eight, and nine figure brands. That position allows me to shine the light on the soul of my clients’ businesses. I use mindful branding and authentic connection when I create for them. Again, me being such a bookworm, I want to know the science behind what I do. Being a Holistic Healthcare Practitioner takes me into that science realm of branding, marketing, and business.

Dr. G.: In the work you do, how do you connect health and beauty into the natural science ?

Sarita: Natural Science is so important to me. I was diagnosed with eczema and psoriasis at the age of five. No medicine yielded the desired result. After dozens of prescriptions, I told my parents I did not want to use medicine anymore. I wanted to try the natural approach. I studied nutrition and learned what worked best for me. One thing we all have in common is food. We all don’t need to eat the same things to have the best overall nutritional benefits. That same theory applies to business. We are all in business, but our business models and strategies need to be tailored towards our own personal lifestyle, goals, values, and purpose. I coach and create from that zone for my clients.

Dr. G.: You are soon to graduate with a PhD in Natural Medicine and Nutritional Science. What inspired you to make this significant shift in your life and how will it lend to the work that you do?

Sarita: Again, the bookworm in me pushed me to go all in again. If I do something I want to be the best. I want to know all I can. I am my first client. So, that means I hold myself to a high standard of self-care and performance. I take all that I learn and become my own experiment. I use those results to effectively serve my clients. I’m real big on winning and building without burning out.

Dr. G.: How can people connect with you?

Sarita: People can connect with me at SaritaPittman.com.

--

--

Dr. Pamela Gurley, D.M.

Business & Leadership Expert. The Un@pologetic Entrepreneur. Feat’d in Forbes, on Good Morning Washington & Fox5Atl. Connect on IG, FB, & Twitter: @iamdrpgurley